The 2016 issue will celebrate
25 years of NCLR with content that reflects North Carolina's strong tradition of a supportive community of writers.

For more information, writers’ guidelines, and submission instructions,
go to Submissions.

Forthcoming in NCLR 2015 (print issue, due out in july)

Featuring Global NORTH CAROLINA

Interviews with Elaine Orr,
by Kathryn Stripling Byer,
and Monique Truong,
by Kirstin Squint, with Nahem Yousaf

An essay on Charles Chesnutt's The Colonel's Dream, by Richard Ellis

An essay on Paul Green's The House of Connelly, by Tanfer Emin Tunc

An essay on historical fiction by Philip Gerard

and more


The 2014 Doris Betts Fiction Prize–winning story by Laura Herbst

The 2014 James Applewhite Poetry Prize-winning poem by Elizabeth W. Jackson

Poems by 2014 James Applewhite Poetry Prize finalists Richard Betz, Barbara Conrad, Marylin Hervieux, Robert Hill, Janet Joyner, Susan Lefler, and Grace Ocasio

Poetry by James Applewhite

and more


East Carolina UniversityNorth Carolina Literary & Historical Association