ECU and Joyner Library present vertical white space North Carolina: A State of Change, A Changing State
white bar Eastern NC Literary Homecoming
white bar author information

The Eastern North Carolina Literary Homecoming (ENCLH) celebrates and promotes the literary culture of North Carolina. The event provides a rich opportunity to learn about and meet North Carolina writers. For a decade now, the Eastern North Carolina Literary Homecoming has nourished and revitalized the creative spirit by providing a space where writers and community members can interact and share ideas. The works represented by the award-winning authors encompass a variety of genres, including poetry, fiction, nonfiction, drama, and music.

In its first seven years, the program focused on writers with connections to Eastern North Carolina. In 2011, the program expanded to include writers throughout the state who are published in the special feature section of the North Carolina Literary Review (NCLR). The program and NCLR theme for 2013 focuses on the changing state of North Carolina and how it is reflected in literature.

THE ROBERTS AWARD FOR LITERARY INSPIRATION is presented annually at the Eastern North Carolina Literary Homecoming by the Friends of Joyner Library at East Carolina University, in recognition of a writer whose work has significantly influenced the literature of North Carolina. The award is named for Mr. and Mrs. B.W.C. Roberts of Durham, NC, in honor of their gift of the Roberts Collection of North Carolina Literature to Joyner Library.


white bar on left white bar below logo

About Us
Schedule of Events
Author Information
Directions & Parking
Contact Us

Program Archive
Photography Archive
Videos from Past Events



2013 Fred Chappell, poet and fiction writer, UNC-Greensboro Professor Emeritus

2012 James Applewhite, poet, Duke University Professor Emeritus

2011 Bland Simpson, UNC-Chapel Hill Kenan Distinguished Professor of English and Creative Writing

2010 Nancy Olson, proprietor of Quail Ridge Books & Music in Raleigh

2009 Reynolds Price, author (1933–2011)

2008 Doris Betts, fiction writer (1932–2012)

2007 Alex Albright, W. Keats Sparrow, and Eva Roberts, co-founders of the North Carolina Literary Review

2006 William S. Powell, historian

2005 David Stick, author (1919–2009)

about us